Not So Random Events

It seems to me that most people seem to think that life’s small events are just something totally unorganized. Something that passes in the blink of an eye, and goes totally un-noticed. Looking back now on the work that God has done in my life, I realize that I didn’t just get here by accident. For example:

While surfing the web, I was craving some spiritual help, and thought perhaps a daily devotional through e-mail, and snipets from Christian books (for more info. see http://zonderzan.com/) would do the trick. Of course, reading through the first chapter of a book entitled ‘Crazy Love – Overwhelmed By A Relentless God (for more info. see, www.crazylovebook.com) through this e-mail service, I knew that was something I wanted to buy a hard cope of and read for myself.

Reading through it, brought tears to my eyes. I noticed what a medicore life I was living, and although I wasn’t the worst person in the world, there was a lot missing. I started praying that God would help me love Him more, (odd request isn’t it?) and through that, help me to learn to love others. Slowly, but surely, God answered my prayers. Now although I didn’t do anything extravagent (yet) like sell my house and give the earnings to those more in need, I have gained enough love to accept others, no matter who they are, or what they stand for.

I get very sick of people who claim to be Christians (but I love them too), but then they don’t accept anyone, and tell others that they’re going to Hell if they don’t believe what these ‘Christians’ believe. I wonder, would people be able to set Christians apart from the rest of the world? Are we really so different from everyone else? Through prayer, God’s put it on my heart, to show His love to everyone I can, and thus, I start here. Already I have listened to a friend of mine come out of the closet, and have accepted him, and am praying for him whole heartedly. He says he wants to like women, but he simply can’t. And while I can understand that, I also understand that if God has enough power to talk to each of us indivually and listen to each of our problems, if God can put so much detail into us, surely He can help my friend get what he desires.

And this prayer continues to be answered. Just today, my mom was speaking of a man who just came back from Kenya, who worked with the less fortunate there. And wow, if that’s not a prayer answered, I don’t know what is. While the steps I’m taking may seem small compared to what others have done, I trust that God will use me as He will, and I will be joyful, where ever I am.

~ by snowflakeonarosepetal on November 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
